One-Layer Simplicity Challenge #1

So, since I really love CAS cards, I thought I would give the One-Layer Simplicity Challenge a try. It’s SO MUCH harder than it looks! LOL! But oh so fun πŸ™‚ I also love that it is a month long challenge, no pressure to “get it done in a flash.”

The first challenge is to re-stock on some theme of cards that you are low on. Myself, I need some more every day/no particular occasion type cards that I can just pick up and send for no real reason, other than to just send some “Happy Mail.” So this is what I came up with…

44Jennifer McGuire posted an awesome tutorial on her YouTube page about embossing with your dies. It was a lot simpler than I thought it would be, but it took me awhile to get my hands on some of the Spellbinders tan embossing mats. Once I did, the idea for this card came together rather quickly. I used some of my PTI alpha dies to emboss the word smile. I was super happy with the way it came out and then it gave me the idea to give it a Bokeh background. A little play on the word you almost always say when taking a picture LOL. This card was SO MUCH FUN TO MAKE! πŸ™‚

Hope you like it!

Supply List (all products are PTI unless otherwise noted) :

Cardstock: Classic Kraft

Stamps: Beautiful Blooms II Stamp Set (for the circles)

Ink: Vintage Cream Hybrid Ink Pad

Dies: Modern Alphabet Dies

5 comments
  1. Ardyth said:

    Love the idea of embossing the word! THis is really cool! Thanks for joining us at OLS!

  2. What a fun design! Love the idea of general cards for happy mail on hand, and this one sure will make someone’s day happy! The colors and design are simply perfect! Thanks for joining us at One-Layer Simplicity!

  3. Heather said:

    Thanks for the embossed sentiment inspiration. Your card looks fabulous.

Leave a Reply

